HALL OF FAME

Distinguished Service Hward

he RGV Sports Hall of Fame each year honors a person or business in the Rio Grande Valley that has made a major contribution in time or monetary support of SPORTS in the Valley. The award is referred to as The Distinguished Service Award. It is not to be confused with the selection of the annual induction awards for those players, coaches, administrators, officials or sports journalists, who are elected to the Hall of Fame for their outstanding achievements.

The award was first presented at the Hall of Fame's 1995 Induction Banquet, eight years after the inaugural induction banquet of 1988. Glenn Roney, well known banker and business giant in McAllen, was the first recipient of the prestigious award. Sixteen men and women have been presented with the DSA honor.

Glenn Roney, McAllen Roy Gonzalez, McAllen Robert Valadez, Mission Othal Brand, McAllen Joe Ochoa, Edinburg Irma Elizondo, Pharr Herman Keillor, MD, Harlingen Greg LaMantia, McAllen Val LaMantia-Piesen, McAllen Jorge Salcines, McAllen A.C. Jaime, Pharr Charlie Isbell, Brownsville Joe Ayala, Harlingen Bill Guthrie, Harlingen Larry Pressler, McAllen Dr. Ben Garza, Edinburg



2010 RGV Sports Hall of Fame Scholastic Achievement Award

Victoria Ponce

Edinburg High School Class of 2010